Skip to content

‘Seeking The Light Within’ Mandala

January 8, 2008

Edited:
I first posted this in 2008 but am bringing it back for Potluck Poetry in 2011 because the prompt is “Meditation” and this post is all about meditation.

Let me meditate
It brings a feeling of peace
Called a mandala

My meditation 
is full of colors and light
And great peacefulness 

 

(This is the post of 2008)
This is the next exercise in Judith Cornell’s “Mandala” book.   The exercise called for using the hands outlined with white colored pencil and then making a design of it.  I admit to cheating a little because the use of colored pencils is not called for until the 4th exercise, however, let me explain how it happened.

Before each exercise she encourages a few minutes of meditation to seek our light within.   My light within is full of color so I was ‘forced’ to use color with the white.

The most amazing part of this whole experience is the feeling of well-being after I do one of these.   Does anyone else have this?

Please excuse the white pencil all over.  I guess I really got into it.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2008 9:08 pm

    You are far more creative than I. your images look hand drawn. I am a computer programmer so I use ASP.NET. Often I use VB.Net. Some times I use C#. I use mathematics, geometry and trigonometry to get the effects I want. I like to feel that nature uses it’s own Sacred Geometries.

  2. January 9, 2008 9:12 pm

    Yes, my images are hand-drawn but I love the ones you do and if I were more techy I would be right there with you 🙂 Doing these is my meditation. We are both creative in our own ways.

  3. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    January 14, 2008 8:19 pm

    While I don’t do mandalas I do get that feeling of ‘well being’, what I would call release when I do a project.

    Meditation is good for everything. 🙂 So is art.

  4. January 27, 2008 7:25 am

    I really like this one and I “get” the excercise right away. I’m going to get that book, I haven’t gotten the feeling of actual well being yet, but do find a sort of calming feeling while doing a mandala, or circle drawing. Sort of a meditative calm.

  5. January 27, 2008 12:24 pm

    Thanks Mim.

  6. June 26, 2011 9:17 pm

    I haven’t, but I like the picture a lot!

  7. June 26, 2011 10:20 pm

    could not see the picture,
    but trust your taste, awesome poetry.

    Happy Potluck!

  8. June 26, 2011 10:58 pm

    Cool piece.

  9. June 27, 2011 12:44 am

    Enjoying the light and warmth:)

  10. June 29, 2011 2:40 am

    This is a beautiful piece Teri, spiritual, warm, and uplifting lovely

Leave a Reply

