Skip to content

Stranded Mandala

April 5, 2008

The theme word at One Single Impression this week is “Stranded”.

I was really inspired with this prompt.

Go and sit outside

Get stranded in the beauty

Make a mandala

And

Dreams and memories.

Get stranded in the moment.

Just drift and enjoy.

And

Like the memories

Leaves and blooms will blow away

Leaving only warmth.

I have never made a mandala using only natural materials before and it was great fun.   I was just sitting outside and thinking about ‘stranded’ which led to this moment of creativity.  Thanks ‘One Single Impression’ for the inspiration.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. meeyauw permalink
    April 5, 2008 11:23 pm

    Wow. That must be the loveliest mandala I have ever seen. Your poetry is inspiring. You were prepared!

    http://meeyauw-pad.blogspot.com/2008/04/one-single-impression-stranded.html

  2. April 6, 2008 12:03 am

    Unusual mandala. I love the second haiku.

  3. April 6, 2008 1:45 am

    These are lovely. I went all gloomy with mine for some reason. These are uplifting. I think I especially like the second one. Love your botanical mandala. Very cool.

  4. April 6, 2008 4:43 am

    This mandala is lovely. I like your approach to this prompt, and I like very much what you have said. Thanks.

  5. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    April 6, 2008 5:40 am

    Now, I don’t think I can make a mandala but the second and third haikus are great. I especially like to drift and enjoy. Your “natural” mandala really goes with the haiku theme too. Great post.

  6. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    April 6, 2008 5:42 am

    P.S. How did you do this mandala? Did you scan the leaves and flowers then photoshop the background? Inquiring minds want to know.

  7. Sandy permalink
    April 6, 2008 9:06 am

    This is nice. All your poems are lovely, but the second one is my favorite.

  8. April 6, 2008 12:11 pm

    Thanks for stopping by everyone. I am going on a small vacation out of town for a few days but when I return I will be visiting your ‘Stranded’ post.

    Lisa, I was sitting outside and noticed my mock orange bush and how the leaves made a mandala-like arrangement so I plucked a few leaves off and laid them on the driveway. Then I added the buds from an aloe plant and the blossom is from a periwinkle. Arranged them all and took a photo. Thanks for asking.

  9. Meinhild permalink
    April 6, 2008 2:25 pm

    That is indeed lovely. Have a nice week.
    Meinhild

  10. April 6, 2008 4:09 pm

    optimistic and rewarding approach! I enjoyed all three!

  11. April 6, 2008 6:28 pm

    It’s beautiful, Teri!!

  12. April 6, 2008 7:20 pm

    Teri – this is absolutely beautiful!

  13. April 6, 2008 7:51 pm

    oh, how appealing it sounds to be stranded in the moment! fantastic offerings!

  14. vixensden permalink
    April 6, 2008 10:42 pm

    You were inspired! Three lovely poems. That nature mandala was the perfect accent to your poems.

  15. April 7, 2008 10:46 am

    Very well inspired!

    😀

    collected clutters

  16. April 8, 2008 8:50 am

    I love these all. And I love how you found a positive to “stranded.” Lovely mandala.

  17. April 8, 2008 12:07 pm

    Beautiful mandala and haiku! So creative and lovely!

  18. April 8, 2008 5:43 pm

    Thanks everyone. Isn’t it great to celebrate a creative moment?!

  19. April 8, 2008 9:42 pm

    Oh my goodness! I am mesmorized! Lisa

  20. maryt/theteach permalink
    April 9, 2008 9:02 am

    Beautiful natural mandala, Teri! Love it! Thanks for stopping by my “one single impression” post! 🙂

  21. April 9, 2008 11:59 am

    beautiful art work, beautiful words

  22. April 9, 2008 5:48 pm

    lol teri!{some leaves n blooms r hard to blow away!}/a green umbrella!/
    seven continents,seven oceans
    seven heavens and
    seven green spokes
    on this umbrella
    my dear li’l fellar
    with a dash of pink
    and you’ll never sink
    into the abyss of
    a burning,scalding field or fallow
    if the earth is not stripped
    of this umbrella
    with a green green halo!/original/z.g./

  23. April 9, 2008 7:45 pm

    Zoya, you write the most fascinating poetry! I always read it two or three times and always get something new out of it. Thanks.

  24. April 9, 2008 8:52 pm

    flattered!please read ‘seven seas’
    in place of seven oceans.Thanks.

  25. April 10, 2008 3:49 am

    I find mandalas fascinating. I like the way you have interpreted this prompt.

  26. April 10, 2008 8:11 am

    I love this Teri!

  27. April 11, 2008 2:31 pm

    it is truly a beautiful and creative mandala…

  28. niebla permalink
    April 12, 2008 12:18 am

    I liked the all-natural mandala (and the background it’s on) just as much as the poems!

  29. April 12, 2008 6:38 pm

    This is awesome Teri…your haiku poems are wonderful!

  30. April 13, 2008 7:55 am

    I am totally addicted to mandalas. I use them with my students at school.

    Your take on this prompt is just delightful!

    Gemma

  31. April 13, 2008 12:08 pm

    ingenuity …
    uplifting haiku trio
    lovely mandelas

    Thanks for your visit earlier this week to my ‘stranded’ OSI posts. I’m sorry it took so long for me to find yours. How funny it was first in the list ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  32. April 13, 2008 12:17 pm

    Thanks. As you can see I am also addicted to mandalas and haikus.
    Lovely haiku Storyteller.

  33. April 24, 2008 8:37 am

    Fabulous! Love the image and the 1st poem for it.

  34. June 20, 2008 12:30 am

    Hi Terri,

    How nice that I found your mandala blog! From FY I came to your art blog and there I saw the link to this blog)
    As a mandala-maniac I will come more often to see what’s new.
    Your mandala’s are original and have fresh colors!
    Greetings Marianne

Leave a Reply

