Skip to content

Idea Mandala

July 16, 2008

I created this mandala in response to a challenge from a new group I joined, Mandala Oasis. The challenge is “Explore a practice”.

I have been asked how I do my mandalas so I am going to try and explain my process and hope it makes sense.  I usually get in the ‘zone’ so far I have a hard time explaining it but I purposely ‘watched myself’ so to say.

I have found that I think better if I create a haiku and then the mandala.    As I thought about the challenge of ‘explore a practice’ I thought about where creative ideas come from.  This was the first haiku that came to mind:

Opening your mind
Reveals creative thoughts
Circle them and bloom

I wanted to show how ideas come from the outside, enter our mind, swirl around until they ‘bloom with a creative thought’.  As I progressed with the mandala another haiku came to mind:

Once in awhile
The idea blossoms hot
Happiness is born

As I progressed the ideas were coming hot and heavy, (“I think I need something here and a color there and so on”).  When I thought I was done, another haiku came to mind:

Explore the practice
Minds are full of ideas
Just reap the riches

It was at this point that I thought of adding the little bubbles and it seemed to pull it all together.

As I look at every mandala I have ever done I wonder where it all comes from.   I am also so relaxed when I finish one so I know they are good for me.

As I look at this mandala it seems chock full of ideas that are bursting to get out.  I would be interested in what you think and feel when you look at it.

I almost always use sharpies in a Handbook sketchbook and occasionally a mandala just calls for black paper.

Comments are moderated only because I don’t know how to unmoderate them.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2008 11:53 am

    Hi Teri,
    This is so alive! And I love the haikus..and that you’ve shared your practice with such detail. Very inspiring!
    Thank you!

  2. Doreen permalink
    July 16, 2008 3:36 pm

    yeah… this is pretty intense! I love how you wrote along with it in stages. Makes me think how we gather our thoughts, some are so up front while the littel details, hiding in the subconscious mind gather and ready to pop! and burst open to new creative ideas… like those little bubbles that rise to the surface in a carbonated drink.
    And welcome to the group 🙂
    Doreen

  3. July 16, 2008 8:56 pm

    This is so beautiful, and your process is very interesting. Thanks for sharing it.

  4. July 17, 2008 3:51 am

    An award is waiting for you on my blog!
    Love >M<

    Wonderful mandala! I’ll return to read your explanation Teri!

  5. July 17, 2008 7:39 am

    I really love your haikus. They say so much. I find it encouraging to think that the creative ideas are already in Mind. I don’t have to produce them, I just have to let them through. That’s what your mandala looks like to me. Like a mind just full of thoughts and ideas, ready to pop, waiting to come out in some creative process. Thank you for being a witness to yourself so we could follow along!

    Lisa

  6. July 19, 2008 2:50 pm

    Very rich, fertile, creative! I love all play between words and images, and making use of haikus is just sooo inspiring! Thank you for this.

  7. July 20, 2008 3:29 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing your creative process, especially with respect to your mandalas. I’m getting closer and closer to trying some myself. 🙂 Here’s a link to the only sort of mandala I’ve done to date and it, too, started with a haiku (really, a dreamku):

    Dream Haiga/Mandala

  8. July 21, 2008 9:06 am

    Thanks everyone! 🙂

  9. July 21, 2008 9:11 am

    Roswila, I can’t get in to see you ‘dream/haiga/mandala. Darn it! It thrills me that you tried one.

  10. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    July 21, 2008 8:10 pm

    Gosh Teri, you have described your process so well. I get the feeling that your work is so personal. I like to get into a zone too. It is just now beginning to happen for me. I can forget the world around me when I go there. Thank you for sharing so much with us.

    By the way, I love the haiku and your soft restful mandala.

  11. July 25, 2008 3:48 pm

    I bought a vest and it strongly resembles this mandala. So it will be my Teri’s mandala vest from now on…..
    I still have to look at your suggestion of the yahoo group, but I am so behind with everything. Hardly catched up with blogging and I almost have to work again…….. but I certainly will Teri

    Greetings!

  12. June 11, 2011 7:41 am

    Absolutely beautiful.

  13. June 11, 2011 6:55 pm

    Thank you Diana.

Leave a Reply

