Skip to content

Rest Mandala

July 20, 2008

The prompt at One Single Impression this week is ‘Rest’ suggested by ‘The Manic Gardner’

Here is my haiku:

To rest and relax
Let the world pass me by
Regeneration!

My goal was to createย a peaceful mandala for this prompt and really had to restrain myself from the bright bold colors I normally use so I used colored pencils and then buffed it with a cotton ball (for those of you who care ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you get a restful feel from this?

I have a mandala posted just before this one where I describe how haiku really inspires me to create these mandalas, in fact there are three of them as I continued through the process.

Comments are still moderated.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2008 6:34 am

    Teri,
    I enjoyed reading about the creative process behind this mandala as well as the poem. It’s good to let the world go by and sit back. Beautiful stuff. Thanks.

  2. July 20, 2008 7:26 am

    Mmm…Makes me delighfully snooozy.
    The mandala is working!

  3. July 20, 2008 10:48 am

    All the soft hues of the mandala and the soothing words are working! Wonderful.

  4. July 20, 2008 12:35 pm

    Regeneration is such a wonderful aspect of rest. I like the haiku and the mandala. I enjoyed reading about your creative process – and yes it is peaceful.

  5. July 20, 2008 2:49 pm

    ..strangely enough teri this time around i like ur poem better than the mandala which is nice in any case but that’s how it is ..many thanks..

  6. July 20, 2008 3:31 pm

    I really like the soft effect of this mandala, and yes, it is restful for me. And comforting. I keep thinking of the colors soft little baby blankets are often made in. I so enjoy you sharing your creative process with us.

  7. July 20, 2008 6:04 pm

    Sometimes a person does need to let the world pass them by for a bit, in order to really rest. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. July 20, 2008 6:43 pm

    A very Peaceful Mandala, soft pastel-like colors-wonderful!

  9. July 20, 2008 7:25 pm

    Love the soft restfulness of this mandala. I would love to have one like it on the ceiling of my bedroom as a focal piece for meditation. Thanks Teri.

  10. July 21, 2008 3:23 am

    Very restful indeed. I do like the cotton feel of it.

  11. July 21, 2008 7:11 am

    This mandala is so calming. Beautiful as always Teri!

  12. July 21, 2008 9:05 am

    Thanks for stopping by everyone. And Zoya, its sure okay you like the haiku better, after all, the haiku is what it’s all about ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. July 21, 2008 12:35 pm

    Ah, yes. Restful, indeed. Thank you for sharing a portion of the process! Nice work.

  14. Sandy permalink
    July 21, 2008 2:03 pm

    Yes, I do find it very restful and relaxing. Amazing how changing color changes the whole mood.

  15. July 21, 2008 2:09 pm

    Sorry about that link I left for you above, it’s probably because it’s in member group. Here’s another link to another place I have that first (and so far only) attempt at a sort of mandala. Just scroll down to the dreamku dated April 22:

    http://tinyurl.com/4rqms5

  16. July 21, 2008 3:08 pm

    Teri, I like this one – the pastels are restful! But I do indeed love the one just before this one! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. July 21, 2008 4:52 pm

    I know very little about mandalas but they always seem to express movement to me. This one has movement but it is very peaceful. And the ‘ku is soft but powerful too. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. July 21, 2008 5:57 pm

    Love the natural and comforting feel of the mandala – like a well used quilt, and the haiku, Teri! I loved reading about your process, as I am often at a loss to explain where mine come from. I’m not sure how my brain works sometimes; a perfect example would be in algebra class in high school – I would just ‘know’ the answer but have no idea how to explain how I arrived at the answer. My teacher naturally was sure I was cheating. It’s often very frustrating!

  19. July 21, 2008 6:07 pm

    You are right! It does feel like a soft worn quilt. Thanks for that.

  20. July 24, 2008 11:14 am

    Teri,
    This is simply gorgeous…and filled with Light! And I do love your haiku.. I have gently planted a seed intention for haiku to bloom from w/in me too. I did post one from a while back on my blog. Maybe that’s Spirit’s way of telling me…they’re on their way.

    Thanks for the inspiration…and I’m glad you’re a part of the Mandala Oasis Yahoo Community : )
    hugs..
    Cheryl

  21. July 25, 2008 3:50 pm

    This certainly makes you relaxed! So nice on one side the colors are more faded and this draws you in a state of rest I think.
    Lovely work Teri! Different than your other mandalas but also very nice!

  22. July 3, 2010 6:25 pm

    nice mandala ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

