Skip to content

Homecoming Mandala

August 16, 2008

The prompt at One Single Impression this week is ‘Spectacle’.

In keeping with the Summer Olympics I worte this haiku:

Olympics this week
A world-watched spectacle
Only the best win

I am editing this to reflect the change from spectacle to homecoming that I didn’t know about.  So I changed the title and wrote another haiku, still thinking about the Olympics.

The men, the women
Making the homecoming count
With Olympic gold

Hard to tell that I have been glued to the TV watching the games.

Comments are moderated.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2008 6:29 am

    Your Mandala is full of activity, much like the Olympics! I’m not sure that I would agree that only the best win, as just getting there indicates that they are already among the best of the best. The same competitors on any given day would produce a different winner in any event.

    I see I wasn’t the only one who noticed Spectacle in the OSI calendar. Yesterday, I also noticed Homecoming on the sidebar. I flipped a coin and went with Homecoming, because I didn’t have anything ready for Spectacle!

  2. August 17, 2008 7:26 am

    Teri,
    First: this is a beautiful mandala that captures for me the spirit of excellence that the Olympians display. And the striving for excellence.

    Second: I am sorry about the confusion re the prompts. We had to switch them at the last minute.

  3. maryt permalink
    August 17, 2008 9:45 am

    Wonderful mandala and poem no matter what subject you write on Teri! 🙂

  4. August 17, 2008 10:03 am

    Your mandalas are marvellous!

    strange it may seem to some

  5. August 17, 2008 11:14 am

    Barb, I totally agree that the best are really all the participants.

    Since I got the wrong prompt, I guess I am a week ahead of myself 🙂 Better than late 🙂

  6. August 17, 2008 10:59 pm

    Great Mandala as always.
    An Olympic effort!
    Thank you for sharing it.

  7. August 18, 2008 12:17 pm

    Cool mandala and haiku. I did a spectacle post but then when I saw that homecoming was the official, decided to save it for – two weeks from now, I guess. Glad you went ahead.

  8. Sandy permalink
    August 18, 2008 4:12 pm

    I had spectacle ready, too!
    What a different look this one has. I love it.

  9. August 18, 2008 6:01 pm

    Your mandala certainly shows all the action at the Olympics. I am glad that you responded to the wrong prompt and graced us with this mandala and haiku.

  10. August 18, 2008 7:06 pm

    always a blessing to pass thru teri… i’ve been watching the olympics just about every night… it is awe inspiring to know one has but moments to reflect years of hard work for recognition… life is full of surprises… the colors are an interesting maize of shapes and combinations that i am sure reflects something deep and profound… sorry, studying too many pysch books this weekend… your mandala is beateefull…

  11. August 18, 2008 7:35 pm

    Great mandala! It certainly reflects the energy that takes place during the Olympics!

  12. August 18, 2008 8:53 pm

    ..a very lovely mandala and a nice haiku..thanks for sharing this teri(and for the correction info)..

  13. August 19, 2008 6:25 pm

    a fantastic tribute…both of them!

  14. August 20, 2008 6:19 pm

    Both your poems are wonderful and full of the moment that all the world is watching. I love the eyes in your mandala. And indeed, what a homecoming it will be for all of those who have participated.

  15. August 20, 2008 7:32 pm

    Very pretty mandala, Teric. I like your poems too! I may have a “spectacle” next Sunday, it won’t be ‘spectacular’ I’m sure. 🙂
    I have no thoughts now, it may be another spurry thing.
    Thank you for peeking in at mine, I had fun doing it.
    ..

Leave a Reply

