Skip to content

Autumn Mandala

September 20, 2008

 

The prompt at One Single Impression this week is ‘Autumn’ suggested my moi:)  I LOVE doing autumn leaves and have written so many haiku and painted leaves all week on my art blog.

This mandala is doing double duty today as ‘autumn’ is also the prompt at Mandala Oasis.

The cycle of change
During the life of a leaf
The joys of autumn

Started as a green
Progressed to red and yellow
Ends brown and broken

I have had a week
Of colorful autumn leaves
At Painted Daisies

I love painting autumn leaves and went crazy painting them and writing a haiku for each.
I am leaving for Arizona tomorrow so it will be a few days before I can visit your Blogs.

Three days to go south
And west to Arizona
With warm sunny skies

 

38 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2008 1:42 pm

    Hi Teri, I really wanted to do ‘seeds’ last week, I had a beautiful golden rod that turned to seed. And pictures of each stage.

    Thank you for your clever prompts. You have written some nice poetry for these words, I like what you have today.

    I may try Autumn this week, we just returned to our home last night after staying at our daughter’s who still had electricity. Plus we got to stay with the 12-yr-old granddaughter while they both worked.
    Half of the Houston area has power restored now, many homes are not livable until a lot work and cleaning is done on them. Ours is fine.
    ..

  2. Lin Neiswender permalink
    September 20, 2008 1:53 pm

    I love this! Two of my faves, no three- fall leaves, haiku, and mandalas!

  3. September 20, 2008 3:55 pm

    Thanks to both of you.

    Jim, I hope you do autumn for the week. Sounds like you need to relax after being in Houston!

  4. sandy permalink
    September 20, 2008 8:57 pm

    Teri, this is so lovely, what a creative pinwheel of life through autumn leaves, so beautiful! I can’t imagine what you will do next?!

  5. September 20, 2008 10:59 pm

    Simply glorious, Teri! I love this time of year, and your mandala honors it beautifully. It’s like a clock..charting the life of the leaf from spring to autumn. I do love the changing colors. It’s like their bow and courtsey to seasons well-lived.

    thanks for sharing it at the Mandala Oasis..
    cheers…
    Cheryl

  6. September 20, 2008 11:27 pm

    This brought tears to my eyes! Stunning, and so artistic…(what a surprise…NOT)!!! You are such a wonderful artisit…I just love seeing what you will do next!!! Good luck on your trip back to AZ!!!!

  7. September 21, 2008 6:36 am

    just gets better, this is so gay and rich and colourful. good trip. hugs and wfs too.

  8. September 21, 2008 7:44 am

    You have created a lovely wheel in honour of Autumn, Teri. Do have a nice break in Arizona.

  9. September 21, 2008 8:31 am

    Teri,
    Your enthusiasm for the season shines through your words and mandalas. All have been wonderful, joyful. Thanks.

  10. September 21, 2008 10:04 am

    This is by far my favorite mandala that you have done! Autumn is so inspiring, is it not?

  11. September 21, 2008 10:18 am

    Another great prompt – and I just love the leaf mandala!

  12. September 21, 2008 10:20 am

    ..”Beauty before death”_
    “Ends brown and broken”-
    ~”Simply glorious, … your mandala honors it beautifully”-
    -“This brought tears to my eyes!”
    -well done teri!..and yes..thanks..

  13. September 21, 2008 11:56 am

    The life cycle perfectly narrated here.

  14. September 21, 2008 12:19 pm

    Love these. I took a class in mandala this summer and have been doing photorgaphy around nature’s mandalas.

  15. September 21, 2008 1:43 pm

    Ohhhhh this is so super beautiful!!!!!

  16. September 21, 2008 2:00 pm

    Thanks for the great prompt this week Teri. Your mandala is beautiful!!!! Hugs, G

  17. September 21, 2008 2:22 pm

    Both painting and poem are lovely. Well done!

    love-bd

  18. September 21, 2008 2:29 pm

    These are wonderful. I went and visited your leaf drawings too and especially loved the two Sunday ones. Gorgeous.

  19. September 21, 2008 7:01 pm

    All of your leaves are amazing this week. I felt that I could reach right down and pick them up. Wonderful madala.

  20. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    September 21, 2008 7:52 pm

    This is just adorable. I am so impressed that you were so inspired by these autumn leaves. I think it very funny that I was trying to think of a way to use leaves to make a mandala then here you do it. Great minds. However I am still only “thinking” about it. Bon Voyage.

  21. September 22, 2008 12:43 am

    TOTALLY Brilliant!!!! WooHOO X 100! 🙂

  22. September 22, 2008 12:09 pm

    I am new to this art called Mandala. Really, really love your submission.

  23. Sandy permalink
    September 22, 2008 3:37 pm

    I know I have said this before, but this is my new favorite. Guess you just keep getting better and better!

    Have a great trip.

  24. September 22, 2008 7:26 pm

    Always a pleasure to visit your site!

  25. September 22, 2008 11:47 pm

    Hi Teri,
    I want you to know, after you commented on how different my New Vistas mandala was, I revisited it..and new insights came. I sensed it when I made it, but had it not been for you recognizing how different it was for me, the realization might have gone un-noticed. I thank you for being you, and for being so in-tune. – You can read it here:
    http://mandalaoasis.blogspot.com/2008/09/new-vistas.html

    Peace to you, and yours…
    Cheryl

  26. September 24, 2008 5:12 am

    I am so happy you had chosen ‘autumn’ as these week . Your words and pictures are beautiful!
    ann

  27. September 24, 2008 9:06 am

    Wow. Your image is beyond superb. Thank you for such a wonderful prompt, and the beautiful haiku accompanying it. The image will stay with me.

  28. September 25, 2008 2:18 pm

    Wonderful and original!

  29. September 25, 2008 4:30 pm

    thank you for the prompts…the mandala is just gorgeous, like the circle of life in ever-changing color. have a wonderful trip!

  30. September 25, 2008 9:29 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration … your prompt idea was perfect! I love your mandalas … this autumnal one is exquisite with its shifting colours.

    Enjoy the sunny Arizona skies. Peace, JP/deb

  31. September 26, 2008 9:44 am

    You did a wonderful job, Teri. Thank you for the prompt and the beautiful art.

  32. September 26, 2008 9:56 am

    Thanks to all of you who visited. I am happy you all loved the prompt.
    This is one of my favorite mandalas. I love making rhem but every once in awhile a real winner comes along.

  33. September 26, 2008 11:48 pm

    Dear Teri C–
    This was a beautiful submission. Really lovely.
    I too have been doing some botanical drawing and may put some on my site this week. It is a meditation like no other…
    Thank you.
    And thank you for stopping by my post to this prompt as well.
    Beth

  34. September 27, 2008 5:07 pm

    Gorgeous…love the leaves…

  35. September 30, 2008 10:09 am

    I love this one. Delicate and beautiful colors.

  36. September 30, 2008 1:28 pm

    beautiful. gotta keep browsing

  37. October 14, 2008 3:16 pm

    Teri, thanks for steering me to your other site! These are beautiful!!

  38. November 16, 2008 7:52 pm

    I am glad I don’t have to choose a favorite from your beautiful mandalas! They are all so unique and lovely!

Leave a Reply

