Skip to content

Fleeting Mandala

September 27, 2008

The prompt at One Single Impression this week is ‘Fleeting suggested by Genre Cookshop.

These fleeting patterns
Circles, waves, color and lines
Wandering designs

For more wonderful haiku and other poetry visit One Single Impression and read the entries.

Comments are moderated.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2008 12:10 am

    Hi Teri, before I read your poem I was marvelling (??) thinking about (??) your Mandalas and how possibly tedious it might be to make these repetitions.
    Your poem didn’t answer my question. In fact my curisoty is now stronger. If I would ever make them I would have a machine or computer program to make them. Do you?
    ..
    BTW, this one seems prettier to me than the others.

  2. September 28, 2008 12:15 am

    Thanks Jim, actually its not tedious at all. I usually do this while ‘watching’ TV. Watching being the key word, because I get into a zen mode and the lines just form themselves and I find myself amazed when it is done and look to see what the result was (and never know just what was on TV). Making a mandala is a great form of meditation. I don’t use a computer program because it would defeat the fun.

  3. September 28, 2008 1:07 am

    Hi Teri C–
    This is beautiful!!
    The work I’ve done with mandalas is so meditative that it couldn’t be equated in anyway with tediousness.
    Thanks for this–and the haiku too!
    Beth

  4. September 28, 2008 1:39 am

    There is a wonderful sense of circling serenity in your mandala. I so love mandalas! And your poem captures the experience beautifully!

  5. September 28, 2008 2:51 am

    Lots of fleeting patterns and movement here – very lively and appealing!

  6. September 28, 2008 4:32 am

    I can see how these could be meditative. And of course, the mandala is said to be a symbol of the descent of consciousness to another state.
    Your designs are always impressive.

  7. September 28, 2008 5:21 am

    Colourful! It feels hypnotic.

  8. September 28, 2008 5:43 am

    I love the patterns and variations in your designs, Teri. They draw me in, and the fleeting moment you create is always a marvel!

  9. September 28, 2008 9:12 am

    Awesome Mandala…

    temporal

  10. September 28, 2008 9:15 am

    Your mandala demonstrates that although made up of fleeting moments, bits and parts, the result is a stable pattern, a life.

  11. September 28, 2008 9:48 am

    ..”the mandala is said to be a symbol of the descent of consciousness to another state”(thanks to anthony north for that)wish to digress [for a joke ie!]:
    Intoxicated Man 1-what the hell is a mandala?
    IM 2-Oh!somebody in south africa!
    IM 3-isn’t that nelson?”
    IM 4-yes,i know that one eyed pirate!-
    thanks teri for a wonderful poem & mandala ..

  12. September 28, 2008 11:28 am

    Zoya…LOL good one.

  13. September 28, 2008 12:03 pm

    Lovely poem and drawing! Really a pretty mandala! I am really honored it was inspired by my humble prompt.

  14. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    September 28, 2008 9:18 pm

    Once again a beautiful mandala and haiku to match.

    I must say I am intimidated by the empty circle. It takes me a long time relax and put pen to paper.

  15. September 29, 2008 10:10 am

    Each time I visit your blog, you take me back to childhood, specifically the joy of coloring. I love the colors and patterns.

  16. September 29, 2008 10:39 am

    i sense movement in this week’s mandala…rolling forward. & i agree with susan…a creative joy lives here!

  17. Sandy permalink
    September 29, 2008 1:54 pm

    This is a complicated one, Teri. And it does have a sense of movement. It fits your poem perfectly.

  18. September 29, 2008 7:06 pm

    I love the ‘flying’ effect of this one – the openness and the colors! Wandering designs. Yes, for sure!

  19. September 30, 2008 7:22 am

    The small repetitive shapes really enforce the idea of ‘fleeting’.

  20. September 30, 2008 1:25 pm

    I am like totally bookmarking this site very good art and lifting to my Spirit. Thank You So Much for sharing your work!

  21. September 30, 2008 1:31 pm

    Thanks everyone. It makes me happy when people like my mandalas 🙂

  22. September 30, 2008 3:48 pm

    Gorgeous!

  23. September 30, 2008 4:10 pm

    it reminds me a caleidoscope!!

  24. September 30, 2008 8:31 pm

    This one makes me think of a shell! One crazy shell, I must admit! Very pretty and detailed!

  25. September 30, 2008 11:19 pm

    I can barely tie my shoes, TV on or not, so I’m even more impressed with your work then ever. Wonderful ku to go along with that mandala.

  26. January 23, 2009 11:12 am

    Hi Teri
    I really like the way you combine the ink, colors and work, very nice work and thank you for passing by my site.
    Best regards
    Frits

Leave a Reply

