Skip to content

Paradox Mandala

November 8, 2008

The theme word at One Single Impression this week is ‘paradox’ suggested by Forest River Journal.

Paradox is an interesting word with a slippery meaning 🙂

Here is my haiku:

A paradox for me
Mandala without color
Just brown, white and black

I found some brown paper and while fooling around with it, this mandala appeared and it seemed so perfect for paradox.  Then the haiku appeared just as mysteriously.

Comments are moderated.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2008 11:19 pm

    WOW…this is really spectacular! The brown, white and black are great together with no added colors! What did you use to do the white, if I may ask???

  2. November 9, 2008 10:30 am

    Beautiful, and perfect for the season – it looks like the monochrome flower seed-heads outside my window!

  3. November 9, 2008 10:38 am

    Oh my goodness, I FINALLY got the ‘moderate comments’ off! Yay for me.

    Julie, I used ink for the black and white colored pencil and on the brown paper it really seems to sparkle.

  4. November 9, 2008 10:52 am

    Dear Teri–
    Aren’t all mandalas paradoxes, by their nature?
    And this one….lovely thing it is!!
    Thank you for this, as always–

  5. November 9, 2008 10:54 am

    Wow!

    Like it!

    blank page soaked

  6. November 9, 2008 12:23 pm

    A truly beautiful and mysterious one this week – fitting, I thought, as there is so much of a paradox in the mandala itself.

  7. November 9, 2008 3:25 pm

    even in sepia, still mesmerizing!!

  8. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    November 9, 2008 3:40 pm

    One of my favorite mandalas Teri. I love the complexity of it. I look at it and think there is a vein I can follow then I lose it within.

  9. November 9, 2008 8:15 pm

    This one leaves me speechless. Well done Teri!

  10. November 9, 2008 10:32 pm

    Teri, you have outdone yourself! I think your reasoning (or story at least) on the happening of the mandela and of the haiku are paradoxical in themselves. 🙂
    ..
    I would wonder, no one mentions about my first set. The brilliant misses Paradise, the not brilliant one finds it. Does this come across?
    ..

  11. November 9, 2008 10:41 pm

    I see a chrysanthemum here. It is beautiful and eternal and wonderful.

  12. November 10, 2008 8:26 am

    ..i do believe the phenomenon of a paradox is not always bad, not necessarily ie
    we find two opposite poles in one magnet_a paradox?
    and three lines that talk-
    watch the metaphor,look at the allusions_
    the happy paradox of a world without bias to color..(& as always, a good mandala)
    .many thanks teri..

  13. November 10, 2008 3:37 pm

    As of today, this one is my ‘new favorite’! Great post!

  14. Sandy permalink
    November 10, 2008 3:53 pm

    Yes, yes, this is my new favorite! This one has a look of power to it.

  15. November 11, 2008 10:32 am

    tis truly marvellous, specially on the brown background.wow.and i do likeyour haikus too.

  16. November 11, 2008 2:24 pm

    Lovely brown mandala and indeed a mandala without color seems impossible but yet beautiful!

    Ps You are tagged (sorry)

  17. November 11, 2008 3:04 pm

    Serendipity! 🙂

  18. Rebecca permalink
    November 12, 2008 11:00 pm

    I love this mandala – simple and yet complex.

  19. November 20, 2008 12:48 pm

    T- the Mandala is indeed a paradox. We all spin in its never end circle. Given that, we should ALL be color-blind!
    Wonderful form and flow of images. This is excellent. Well done my fiend.

    love-bd

  20. November 21, 2008 4:52 am

    Oooo Teri… this is mysterious and oh so textured; love the yummy brown.

    peace…
    Cheryl

  21. December 2, 2008 8:46 pm

    Teri,
    Your prompt of “doodles” will be up Dec. 7 at OSI. Please send a poem and/or image to me for that post by this Friday. God bless.

  22. January 22, 2009 5:23 pm

    Hi, Teri, just stopped by as a friend mentioned she’s missed your mandalas. (I love this one, by the way.) Hope all is going well for you and that you are just busy with wonderful things (other than mandalas :-D).

    blessings,
    Patricia (a/k/a Roswila)

  23. Gabby O permalink
    October 4, 2009 3:17 am

    i absolutly love your manadalas, and i think this 1 is my fave!

  24. June 13, 2010 4:25 pm

    What a lovely mandala… and it gave me an idea too! drawing mandalas on grocery paper bags with conte, pastels, or charcoal, thank you!

  25. January 15, 2011 1:52 am

    This mandala is striking in its spare color palette, and the design is great. It almost seems alive.

Leave a Reply

