Skip to content

Pi Day

March 14, 2011

Pi-ku is new for me but lots of fun.

This is a quote from One Single Impression to explain what this is all about:

“Today is March 14, 3/14, 3.14, or as it’s known to many unlikely to have other plans, Pi Day. I’m learning about a few ways Pi Day is celebrated by so-called mathletes. There are pie contests and pizza parties. Those who can recite more than just three digits do so out loud to no one in particular, and the Exploratorium in San Francisco holds an all-day celebration. And some people, we understand, write pi-ku—haiku about pi. I say we take it one step nerdier and make new rules.

First line: 3 syllables
Second line: 1 syllable
Third line: 4 syllables

Here’s mine:

Pie contest?
Nope
Just some math fun

This is not my usual mandala but several rounds together works also. 😉

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 7:48 pm

    Math and fun make for an interesting mix!

  2. March 14, 2011 7:51 pm

    Nice pi-ku and lovely art as well.

  3. March 14, 2011 9:11 pm

    Teri! You are one haiku mama…and mandala mama too! Love them all!!!

  4. March 14, 2011 9:52 pm

    Brilliant!

  5. March 14, 2011 10:41 pm

    Thanks. Yes, I really have been on a mandala and haiku roll and now pi-ku.

  6. March 14, 2011 11:56 pm

    It may not be your usual Mandala but I like it and your pi-ku is very creative!

  7. March 15, 2011 12:49 am

    Pi’s are too many beautiful circles in a square!! Love it!!

  8. March 15, 2011 1:18 am

    LOL! Fun post! I didn’t write a pi-ku, but I did celebrate Pi Day in my own way with a Limerick Ode to Pi Day.

  9. March 15, 2011 9:58 am

    super smart…

  10. March 15, 2011 10:54 am

    Hi Teri ~~ I think we all had fun doing the
    pi-ku for Pi Day. Your entry is very nice;
    a fun one too! 🙂

    Fun, as is your mandala are fun as well! 🙂
    I am intrigued by them but can’t draw beyond
    the stick figure so am handicaped artistically.

    Pehaps when I have time I could look for a
    computer Mandala Machine that would draw them
    for me.
    ..

  11. March 16, 2011 1:30 am

    I love your take !! perfect !

Leave a Reply

