Skip to content

“Miss Mandala”

June 12, 2011

image

I created this mandala and haiku in response to the prompt of ‘miss’ at One Single Impression as suggested by Harshad Meta

Did I miss summer?
Yesterday it was ninety
Today it’s fifty

Thanks for a fun prompt Harshad.

The crazy weather that we have been having really made me write this haiku with a matching mandala:  icicle for the cold and droopy daisy for the heat.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 7:50 am

    Hi Terri ~~ No, you didn’t miss summer. 🙂 Unil June 21st it’s still spring on the calandar. Such a pretty mandala with the daisy again, the haiku fits wonderfully.

    Your title prompted me to think of the old 60’s song, “San Francisco (be Sure To Wear Some Flowers In Your Hair).

    If you’re going to San Francisco
    Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair
    If you’re going to San Francisco
    You’re gonna meet some gentle people there
    For those who come to San Francisco
    Summertime will be a love-in there

    …”

  2. June 12, 2011 7:55 am

    Teri, you always give me pleasant surprixes.. every time a beautiful Mandala and lovely haikus… enjoyed both.. Thanks..

  3. June 12, 2011 11:32 am

    You are so creative and communicating with art!

    Well, we have a rainy season here. Poring since last three days.

  4. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    June 12, 2011 11:32 am

    A great way to describe the weather.

  5. June 12, 2011 11:57 am

    We are having a cool season here too but I love it, I am NOT a hot, hot weather fan!!! LOVE the mandala, as always. Love them all. A story in a circle. G

  6. June 12, 2011 3:25 pm

    Hello Teri.
    This is a very creative way to describe the ups & downs of the weather.

    Thanks for sharing and for your kind sentiments over at my blog.

  7. June 12, 2011 7:05 pm

    We must be in the same part of the country. Oppressive heat in the morning yesterday, went a couple hours north and it was freezing in the afternoon. The mandala looks like how I would expect the temperature map to be. 🙂

  8. June 12, 2011 7:47 pm

    cute one.

  9. June 12, 2011 10:39 pm

    I love Jim’s song…and I fairly know that song I can sing it by heart! 😀
    Beautiful Mandala Teri!
    I missed summer here coz I did not have time to dip my tired body in the cool waters of the ocean.
    Summer here in our country is going to the beach! 🙂

  10. June 12, 2011 11:38 pm

    Now that is some crazy weather!!! I wish summer was over down here……… (sweat, sweat…..)
    Cute mandala!!!

  11. June 13, 2011 7:40 am

    Thanks everyone. I love creating a mandala and poetry for the prompt. Gets my creative juices flowing.

  12. June 13, 2011 12:07 pm

    Love the artistic creation!

  13. June 13, 2011 12:35 pm

    Teri,
    sorry your Haiku has me laughing….. it just sucks when it is nice and warm/hot one day then is cold the next. This is the era of odd weather! Love the Mandala it is gorgeous the patterns of color remind me of mother earth!

  14. June 13, 2011 6:50 pm

    Amanda, Im glad you saw the humor-that was my intention. I was giggling too.

  15. June 14, 2011 10:03 pm

    I am with you. Today we are freezing, tomorrow we will be roasting!

  16. June 20, 2011 12:35 am

    This is the perfect depiction of summer. Lovely!

    … our weather here (No. CA) has been the same way of late. Nice haiku.

Leave a Reply

