Skip to content

“Seven Mandala”

June 26, 2011

The prompt at One Single Impression this week is “Seven Sins” as suggested by Fiducia.

Seven sins make spots on the soul
Cleanse them with grace

Invigorate sloth with diligence
Turn lust into chasity
Introduce pride to humility
Change envy to kindness
Reduce gluttony to temperance
Replace wrath with patience
Let greed turn to charity

Seven sins make spots on the soul
Cleanse them with grace

I have to admit I had to do a lot of research on this prompt, both for meaning, the graces and how to illustrate it.
Very challenging prompt Fiducia!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 7:10 am

    This prompt wouldn’t appeal to me but I love what you did with it Teri!
    Have a wonderful Sunday!

  2. June 26, 2011 8:05 am

    “Cleanse them with grace” is such a beautiful idea. Amd I love your B&W mandala!

  3. June 26, 2011 10:14 am

    I like the implication in your image that both sides are necessary for balance.

  4. June 26, 2011 11:25 am

    nicely said!

  5. June 26, 2011 11:29 am

    You did a great job Teri, I love how you’ve taken the dark side and turned it to light. Very good!!! You and I have a wavelength shared on many topics. :<)

  6. June 26, 2011 2:00 pm

    You create balance, eradicate the bad with the good. This is the answer to life’s greatest dilemmas isn’t it?
    Perfect image and construction.

  7. June 26, 2011 6:21 pm

    Hi Terri ~~ Your research paid off! 🙂 This is a good poem about the seven sins listed on your excellent mandala.

    I love the way you put the ‘sins’ in the dark. I dare say that a lot more ‘sinning’ is done in the dark and at night than in the light of day. Vice versa for performing the character attributes.
    ..

  8. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    June 26, 2011 6:32 pm

    Very well done Teri. Thought provoking too.

  9. June 26, 2011 6:44 pm

    Great job at this very challenging prompt!

  10. June 27, 2011 9:49 am

    Thanks everyone. Yes, this was difficult but fun.

  11. June 30, 2011 1:45 am

    Wow Teri, so very nice…I wish I am always inclined to the right side of your Mandala…but we are no perfect person…just the same we try to struggle to veer away from such wickedness!

    Hats off to your poem Teri!

  12. June 30, 2011 7:44 am

    I loved your interpretation; very yin and yang! I had to look it up as well- I love when I learn about something new. Your mandala is gorgeous~ have a great day!

Leave a Reply

