Skip to content

“Weed Mandala”

September 3, 2011

image

The prompt this week at One Single Impression is “Weed” as suggested by Gabrielle.

My haiku:

My weeds have flowers
They can be stubby or tall
Enjoy their beauty 

Interesting word to make poetry out of as well as a mandala.  I enjoyed the challenge.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 9:19 pm

    Hi Terri,

    Your mandala and haiku are lovely!

    I love the bag I bought from the photo I took that you painted.

  2. September 4, 2011 3:51 am

    wasn’t this a great prompt! I enjoyed it too. And I LOVE what you’ve done here. You’ve transformed weeds into a beautiful thing. really like this one! I love seeing a new mandala here.

  3. September 4, 2011 5:30 am

    you did a lovely job! who knew weeds could look this pretty.

  4. September 4, 2011 7:45 am

    This is wonderful. I like the way you used stippling to give the impression of a mandela. Beautiful!

  5. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    September 4, 2011 7:59 am

    Weeds are some of the most beautiful flowers. Love this mandala and poem. The poem gives the weed it’s due.

  6. September 4, 2011 11:33 am

    PS: Cryptic message to Teri….my first guess: ME? I hope not. Let me know ok! G

  7. September 4, 2011 11:44 am

    NEVER!!!!

    Sent from my iPad

  8. September 4, 2011 5:38 pm

    Teri, your mandala flowers are beautiful. This time I do believe the poem describes the mandala rather than the mandala illustrating the haiku. They both are lovely though. 🙂
    ..

  9. September 4, 2011 6:03 pm

    Whewwww…so glad. you never really know about how something said might be perceived. Ms. Marple Ger is back on the case LOL teeeheee…I’m in a good and silly mood, can ya’ tell?

    Hugs, G

  10. September 5, 2011 11:32 am

    I agree! Weeds can look really beautiful. As delicate as in your mandala!

  11. September 5, 2011 11:32 am

    Teri, I like the colours in this mandala, and the “spatter” effect is pretty.
    I think we do need to be appreciate nature’s weeds, or wildflowers. Yes, some are toxic, and should be removed, but many are part of a complex ecosystem and have a purpose.

    I have always enjoyed the groundcover kind of weeds, and remember as a child picking them, and considering them flowers.
    Brenda

  12. September 5, 2011 6:11 pm

    Thanks everyone.
    I obtained this effect using watercolor pencils on sandpaper and as the pieces hit the paper, they disperse in this pretty way.

  13. September 5, 2011 7:15 pm

    Love both the haiku and the mandala! I really love seeing poetry combined with other art forms.

  14. September 6, 2011 1:15 am

    Weeds to can be enjoyed! 🙂

  15. September 6, 2011 7:04 am

    I enjoy my flowering weeds too. That mandala is beautiful.

  16. September 6, 2011 9:13 pm

    To be sure, I will enjoy their beauty!

  17. September 7, 2011 10:00 am

    Beautiful- love your “weeds, flowers, and beauty” Nicely done~

  18. September 9, 2011 4:17 am

    Beautiful Weed… and
    A beautiful Mandala….!

  19. September 10, 2011 9:58 am

    amazing weed entry.

Leave a Reply

