Skip to content

Irish Daisies Mandala

May 31, 2016


The other night when I was about to fall asleep, an idea jumped in my head. Then my muse insisted I get up to write the tanka and block out the mandala. I couldn’t wait to get up and work on it the next day. 

This poem is called a Tanka which is like a haiku with 2 more lines and 31 syllables. 5 syllables in the first and third lines and seven in the second, fourth and fifth:

My Irish daisies

Making life bloom and blossom

Is there one more?

Wait, what is with the red one?

Variety is the spice

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2016 11:28 am

    It’s beautiful Teri like all those mandalas.😊

  2. May 31, 2016 1:57 pm

    Very pretty Teri! Delicate. Always need a red one for variety sake. 🙂

  3. May 31, 2016 7:30 pm

    Thanks so much Sam.

  4. May 31, 2016 7:31 pm

    Thanks Susan. We all need a little spice.

  5. May 31, 2016 7:42 pm

    Yes indeedy!! 🙂

  6. June 4, 2016 4:01 pm

    Very beautiful. You have a lot of patience. I would have gone crazy drawing all those flowers in a circle!

  7. June 4, 2016 4:02 pm

    Haha, it’s like meditation for me. And I get a lot of thinking done while doing something like this

Leave a Reply

