Skip to content

Experiment To Art

January 5, 2017

I started using my 2017 Hobonichi planner and am trying to get used to the different format. Yesterday I decided I didn’t like what I was doing so tried something else. Fountain pen ink is fabulous on this paper, just glides over it. I wondered how watercolor would work. Not so much, but then I realized I paint with a lot of water and that’s what didn’t work. So I blotted it off.

Then I decided to make a mandala over the light color and wrote my frustration in circles. 

So I turned an experiment into a piece of art fun.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2017 11:34 am

    When the intentional experiments go awry do your own thing and let the pen or brush glow. 🙂 That is the fun as you say, try something new and see how it goes. There are so many mediums to art, and I am always amazed at the way and kinds of art one can create with whatever tools and equipment they use.

  2. January 5, 2017 11:37 am

    Oops. Sorry Teri. I meant to say brush ‘flow’, not ‘glow’. 🙂 My bad eyes and bad vision really screws me up at time. That’s why I have to lean into my desktop PC with my strongest reader glasses, and sometimes I still goof up. 🙂

  3. January 5, 2017 11:57 am

    It seems that we learn so much from frustrations. i like how this turned out.

  4. January 5, 2017 12:09 pm

    There really are so so many art supplies. And I keep thinking I have to try them all. Lol. It’s actually inspiring to try new things and then do better when things go awry.

  5. January 5, 2017 12:11 pm

    Oh Joyce, I so know what you’re talking about. In fact I am seeing the eye doc today. I think my other eye is ready for a cataract removal.

  6. January 5, 2017 12:12 pm

    Thanks Lisa. It is kind of an inspiring learning experience.

  7. January 5, 2017 12:40 pm

    I’ve had cataract surgery on both eyes. It help a lot in my long distance vision, but doesn’t help in short distance so I just have to rely on stronger strength reading glasses, and work with my eyeballs to the PC screen. 🙂

  8. January 5, 2017 6:10 pm

    How great that you could turn it around, and it is quite pretty. PS: I’ve missed your posts and am glad to see you back at it 🎨

  9. January 5, 2017 11:32 pm

    Thanks So much Carol. So nice to be missed 😄

Leave a Reply

